12 Oct

On 10th October, the City of London School was the venue for our Master’s at Home event. This event, one of the final highlights in the Master’s year, typically mirrors the Master’s personality and interests, and it was especially fitting that the event took place at the school where Michael Shapiro’s son had been a student. Overlooking the river, the venue provided a splendid view of the Tate Modern and Southbank with a backdrop of St. Paul’s Cathedral through wide windows and a dramatic glass roof to the north.

The Master’s at Home afforded us the opportunity to award the remaining Master’s Scholarships and the Robert Woodthorpe Browne Tacitus Essay Prize. The awards were organised and overseen by World Trader Sarah Goodhew, who was unable to attend the event following the arrival of her new son. The Scholarships were awarded to two promising young students, Hannah Young and Emily Monk, both from Waldegrave School. Both students showed initiative and dedication in raising awareness and organising fundraising events for charities they support.

The winner of the Robert Woodthorpe Browne Tacitus Essay Prize was Teo Hasecic. This year’s competition was dedicated in memory of Past Master, the late Robert Woodthorpe Browne who died so suddenly last year. We were delighted that Barbara agreed to present the prize. The competition encourages young minds to explore economic, geographic, and political ideas around the theme of the annual World Traders Tacitus Lecture. Rory Stewart sent the following message to Teo: “Many congratulations on an admirably clear, provocative and thoughtful essay and very good luck for what I am sure will be a promising future.”

The Company was delighted that Professor Alderman Michael Mainelli, Lord Mayor Elect and his wife Elisabeth, the Lady Mayoress Designate, were able to attend before Michael becomes the 695th Lord Mayor of London in November, marking a historic achievement for the World Traders. We as a company are honoured to have Michael as the Lord Mayor Elect, the first time in our history that we will be a mother company to the Lord Mayor and the Master was delighted to propose a toast to Michael and Elisabeth.

Following the awards, the evening continued with a warm and humorous address by Michael Shapiro, who described his happy memories of a term in office. He spoke about the various events he had attended, the Master’s trip to Tallinn, the Tacitus Lecture and International Women’s Day. Michael said he was particularly proud of the last two events which were both highly successful and raised the profile of the Company by appealing to a wide ranging audience. Michael also emphasised, on a personal note, how much it meant to have his rabbis from The West London Synagogue present at two of his dinners and in the pulpit at the Thanksgiving Service.

Michael also expressed pride and pleasure in the contribution of the younger members of the Company who are now represented on every committee, as well as on Court. Michael admitted the highlight of his year has not been a particular event, but quite simply, in accordance with the Company’s motto, enjoying commerce and honest friendship with all. He took the opportunity to thank all the members of the committees for their hard work and the learned Clerk and Jill his Consort, for all their support during a very rewarding and exhausting year.

The guests then enjoyed watching a wonderful video of the Master’s year compiled by Liveryman Wil White.

The Master’s At Home was a true pleasure for everyone, celebrating the academic and charitable achievements of the students, the vibrant culture of the Company and Michael’s successful year as Master.

Robert Woodthorpe Browne Tacitus Essay Prize: Full Results

Winner: Teo Hasecic, City of London School for Boys

2nd place: Sarah Lee, Cheltenham Ladies College

3rd place: Freya La Cour Kirby-Green, The Grey Coat Hospital School


Highly Commended:

Isabel David-West, City of London Girls School

Archie Hall, Wellington College

Struan Henstock, Winchester College

Hisha Kasi, Waldegrave School

Lucas Linnane, Westminster School

Hamzah Malji, London Academy of Excellence

Sravya Meda, The Tiffin Girls’ School


The winner, Teo Hasecic’s essay can be read here.

Zoe Buckingham